Why I Serve: An Interview With Newly Elected CA Board Member Brian Dunn

In April, Columbia residents elected representatives to serve on the Columbia Association (CA) Board of Directors for 2013–2014. Three new members were elected this year, including newcomer Brian Dunn, who previously served on the Kings Contrivance Village Board of Directors.

Why did you decide to run for a seat on the Columbia Association Board of Directors?

Dunn: Because I love this place, and I want to play a part in ensuring its future success.

What do you hope to accomplish during your term?

Dunn: I think we need to continue to address our aging infrastructure, and I would also like to see ground break on the Inner Arbor plan.

Why do you think it’s important for community members to be involved with the CA Board?

Dunn: Because the decisions made by the CA Board affect everyone living here. It behooves them to pay attention and to let us know how they feel, good or bad.

What do you bring to the CA Board?

Dunn: I think my best asset is my ability to connect with people. I come into this position with an open mind and will do my best to build consensus on issues when possible. I am looking forward to learning all I can about all the positive things we do for Columbia.

How would you suggest other community members get involved with the Columbia villages and the CA Board?

Dunn: Come to a meeting, attend an event or participate in one of the many services CA offers. Sometimes all it takes is one small thing and your whole world opens up.

Learn more about the current CA Board of Directors at ColumbiaAssociation.org; click on “Get Informed.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Board News, Columbia News

Leave a Reply

