Getting a Workout in Before the Turkey Fest

I was so happy to see that many Columbia Association (CA) facilities plan to be open on Thanksgiving. What a great service to the community to have morning hours available to the public.

I used to be one of those people who said, “What’s the big deal people? Why do you need to workout on a holiday? You can take a day off. It’s just one day.”

Yes, well, that’s what I used to think before I cared about my fitness and my training habits.  See, two years ago, I was very overweight and very unfit. Then I spent all of 2011 dropping weight and getting fit until the Thanksgiving holiday.

Starting with Thanksgiving last year, I let myself eat whatever I wanted then and for most of December and I didn’t work out much. How much harm could it be to take three weeks off? Let me tell you. It can hurt a lot! First, the weight gain. I managed to gain 17 pounds in three weeks. You read that right – 17 pounds. I didn’t even think I was pigging out. Second, I lost all my stamina at the gym. It felt like I was starting over when I finally got back to it and starting over is hard. And thirdly and most importantly, I got out of the habit of working out – a habit I had worked so hard at making. It could have been very easy to never jump back in.

Yes, it is true that taking a day off can be good and that taking a day off isn’t the end of the world, but sometimes you just need to stick to your routines. For me, it’s the head game. If I work out hard that day, I’m less likely to pig out as I don’t want to negate the hard work I had put in already. For some others it’s a great stress reliever. While spending time with family on holidays is a great joy, it can also be stressful. Nothing like a great workout to let it all out. For others it’s keeping that habit and not breaking the routine that is so hard to keep. There are lots of reasons for not wanting to miss workout days. I didn’t used to understand it, but now I do.

So, thank you staff of the Columbia Athletic Club, Columbia Gym, Supreme Sports Club, Columbia Swim Center, Ice Rink, Owen Brown Tennis Club, Fairways Golf Club and Hobbit’s Glen Golf Club for being open on Thanksgiving.

____________

Melissa Sinclair works in the Communications & Engagement Division at Columbia Association (CA). Melissa recently moved to Columbia with her three-generation family. She has lived in more than a dozen cities and is looking forward to making Columbia, Md., her permanent home! Click here to read more of Melissa’s Getting to Know CA series.
one

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting to Know CA, Health & Fitness

Leave a Reply

