Tried out the Piloxing Class

The first class I decided to write about happens to be a brand new class taught by Columbia Association (CA). Piloxing® is a mix between Pilates® and boxing, hence the name Piloxing®. The only boxing type workout I have ever done is the first release of Tae Bo®. I still have it on video cassette but haven’t done it in more than 15 years. Recently I took some photos of a Tae Bo® class at the Supreme Sports Club. It reawakened my interest in boxing classes, so the Piloxing® class intrigued me.

I have never been to a Pilates® class. And to be honest I don’t know much about it except that it works on stabilizing and strengthening your core muscles and I know a lot of movie stars seem to love the workout. I was a bit puzzled at how boxing moves and Pilates® moves could be incorporated together to make one routine, but there was only one way to figure it out: try the class. Last Saturday, at Claret Hall, I tried out the free sample class just to check it out.

Now first let me state, I’m not an athlete and I never have been. I didn’t participate in sports in high school, not in intramurals in college, not even any dance classes when I was a kid. While I wouldn’t exactly call myself a klutz, you can gather from my non-athletic background that I’m probably not the most coordinated person either. My whole experience with anything athletic has been through workout videos meant to be used at home. In the privacy of my basement I have tried out traditional aerobics, step aerobics, Tae-Bo® and a bit of resistance training with dumbbells. Going to the gym to take classes was done out of necessity. I was bored with what I had at home, so a little more than a year ago I started going to the gym. I’m still not an athlete, but I do now have a basic level of fitness that I am trying to build upon.

With that said, new classes still intimidate me a bit. Will I be able to do it? Will I be too klutzy? Will I be huffing and puffing too much? Will I be able to get it or will I feel lost? And Piloxing® was a whole new experience from what I usually do at the gym, so I was a bit nervous. So of course, I went to the back of the gym to hide if I found it too hard or too intimidating.


And so the class began. It began much how a boxing class would start with some slow jabs and slow footwork. We ramped that up little by little until we were all getting a good sweat. Just when I was beginning to feel the aerobic part of the routine we switched it up. We started doing slow, repetitive ballet type poses, the Pilates® portion. I could tell this was working my core as well as my legs and glutes. We did a series of these and then went back into some more aerobic boxing moves. This was followed by more, yet different balancing core work and then back to boxing. We ended with floor abdominal work.
As I experienced the class, I really felt like I was taking an eclectic mix of ballet, Pilates®, boxing and Zumba®. What was clear was that I was working my whole body and doing it in a fun way. I didn’t feel like a klutz. I didn’t feel like it was too hard to learn and I felt it was easily adaptable for all fitness levels. I especially loved that it was low impact for my aging knees.

This new class at CA for now is only being taught at Claret Hall on Saturdays at 9am beginning November 3. Cost for the six-week class is $60 for members, and $72 for non-members. You can register for the class at the Columbia Gym or the Membership Center.

____________

Melissa Sinclair works in the Communications & Engagement Division at Columbia Association (CA). Melissa recently moved to Columbia with her three-generation family. She has lived in more than a dozen cities and is looking forward to making Columbia, Md., her permanent home! Click here to read more of Melissa’s Getting to Know CA series.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting to Know CA, Health & Fitness

Leave a Reply

