My Trick to Signing Up for Classes!

It took me awhile to start using my membership with CA, but I got the courage to go once I found out that it was fun and not as scary as I imagined going to a gym would be. I then began to venture beyond the drop-in classes and into the Package Plan Plus (PPP) classes, where you need to pre-register.

The first few times I tried to register for a class, I did so on the day of the class, but found that the class was already full. I read the online site more thoroughly, and it said I could register up to 25 hours in advance of the class, so that’s what I started to do to ensure a spot.

However, I’m a busy mom and a forgetful person. Sometimes I would forget to sign up until a few hours into registration because I was making dinner or running the kids somewhere or just plain forgot. Invariably, every time I forgot, the class would fill up and I would be out of luck and on a wait list. Darn it!

I whined about missing registration for a class once on Facebook and a friend, much more organized than me, said, “Melissa, use an alarm on your phone to remind you to sign up.” What a brilliant idea! Isn’t that why it’s called a smart phone? Because you can do so much with it? Why was I so behind the times and only using my phone for Internet access, a camera, and as a phone? It can be an alarm clock, too! Eureka!

What I did was I opened up each of the three gym’s schedules and made a list of the classes I wanted to take for the week. I then went to my phone and set an alarm 25 hours in advance of each of the classes I wanted to take. (If I wanted a class at or before 6 am, I could sign up 36 hours in advance, however, I had no desire of going to a pre-dawn class! I’m just sharing that for you early birds out there.)

So that I would know what the alarms were for, I labeled each of the alarms like, “BP at AC” which I knew meant “Sign up for Body Pump at the Athletic Club.” So no matter where I was or what I was doing, I could stop and sign up for classes online or call the fitness facility to sign up. It has worked flawlessly.

Now I have to admit I was a bit hesitant in sharing this trick with you all. I mean really, what am I doing giving away my tricks to signing up for classes? Now more people will be setting alarms and beating me to registration. But then I figured, “Isn’t that what this whole Getting to Know CA bit is all about?”
____________

Melissa Sinclair works in the Communications & Engagement Division at Columbia Association (CA). Melissa recently moved to Columbia with her three-generation family. She has lived in more than a dozen cities and is looking forward to making Columbia, Md., her permanent home! Click here to read more of Melissa’s Getting to Know CA series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting to Know CA, Health & Fitness

Leave a Reply

