All Those Doggies Using the Pathways

Behind my house runs a Columbia Association (CA) pathway. Near the front of my house the road connects to another CA pathway. Both of these pathways, front and back yard lead to Wilde Lake, about 100 yards from my home. With two paths so close to my home and with living so close to Wilde Lake, this means I see a lot of dog traffic everyday.

My computer desk is right in front of a window. So whenever I’m working I get to see the parade of dogs walking their owners every day. I even have a dog breed bookmark on my computer so I can look up and identify all the happy dogs out for a walk passing by.

We have a lot of beautiful dogs in Columbia and I’ve seen a lot of interesting and unusual breeds walk by on their way to the lake. Like there’s a family that owns four Great Pyrenees and another with two Irish red and white setters. I’ve seen an Afghan hound, an Irish wolfhound, a Shiba Inu and even a komondor with that amazing coat of fur! Mostly, of course, I see golden and Labrador retrievers, pugs, spaniels and poodles of all sizes as well as many, many other dog breeds and mixed breeds.


What don’t I see? Doggie presents left in my yard or along the pathways. A lot of that has to do with good dog owners who pick up after their pets. For that, I thank you tremendously. Parents with kids running around outside thank you too. But I also thank CA for their efforts in keeping the pathways and parks clean of doggie doo.
Along heavily used pathways, like around the lakes, there are Mutt Mitt stations. Dog owners can grab a bag or two while walking the path. Also along the routes there are trash cans to dispose of the mitts after the dog has done their business and dog owners have picked up after them. This is a great service for CA to provide and they’ve been providing it for the last 10 years. As we all know, even if you come prepared with a bag (or two), the dog might decide they need to do more business and then what do you do when you’re far from home? CA helps out with that.

Mutt Mitt stations are refilled and garbage cans gets emptied three times a week all year long by CA team members. That makes for happy dog owners and homeowners.

______________
Melissa Sinclair works in the Communications & Engagement Division at Columbia Association (CA). Melissa recently moved to Columbia with her three-generation family. She has lived in more than a dozen cities and is looking forward to making Columbia, Md., her permanent home! Over the past year she has worked on losing weight, getting fit and doing volunteer work; she is now looking forward to working for CA after staying home with her family for the last several years. Melissa has a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and a master’s degree in educational administration. Click here to read more of Melissa’s Getting to Know CA series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting to Know CA, Pathways

Leave a Reply

