Dancing Under the People Tree

Summer is here, and this year is the year I’m going to explore more of what CA has to offer. One regular event that sounds like fun for everyone is the Friday evening event of Dancing Under the People Tree from 6:30 to 8 p.m. at the Columbia Lakefront as part of the Summer Lakefront Festival. It began on June 15 and will continue every Friday (weather permitting) until September 14.

Articles and videos I’ve seen of this event made it look like a great weekly event. I can take my little guy with me and dance with him as he thinks it’s a hoot when mom dances. Or I can leave him with a babysitter, and my husband and I can make a cheap date of it because this event is free! With the cost of babysitters, cheap entertainment is always a bonus.

Besides being fun and free, the next best part of this event for me is that it involves movement. I’ve spent more than a year taking off weight and getting fit, so whenever I can find a fun way to incorporate exercise into everyday living, I do it!

The first time I went to Dancing Under the People Tree, it was ridiculously hot. It was one of the hottest days of the summer, but there was Tatia Zack, a private dance instructor who has been providing dance lessons under the People Tree for years. Tatia was ready to go and unbelievably, there were more than a dozen diehard People Tree dancers following right along, some even in proper dancing shoes even though it was above 95 degrees outside!

I am a wimp when it comes to heat, so I admit, this time I just watched, but I came back next week when it was 10 degrees cooler, and this time I joined the fun as did a crowd of others. Tatia makes it so much fun, easy to learn and always fresh.

I got a kick out of seeing who would join in the dancing fun. Some people dance from beginning to end, but many passersby found themselves jumping into the fun too. Do you spy the little dog joining the fun with his owner?

And everyone was ahh-ing at how cute this little girl was. Mom really wanted to dance, so most of the time the little one just tagged behind mommy, but here she got a bit brave and even found a partner who was accommodating to her stature:

It really is a fun time for the whole family, a date or a group of friends. There will be lots of smiles and a bit of sweat. So, put on your blue suede shoes,  er… or, if you’re 3, take off your red polka dot shoes and join the fun!

Melissa Sinclair works in the Communications & Engagement Division at Columbia Association (CA). Melissa recently moved to Columbia with her three-generation family. She has lived in more than a dozen cities and is looking forward to making Columbia, Md., her permanent home! Over the past year she has worked on losing weight, getting fit and doing volunteer work; she is now looking forward to working for CA after staying home with her family for the last several years. Melissa has a bachelor’s degree in Spanish and a master’s degree in educational administration. Click here to read more of Melissa’s Getting to Know CA series.

Leave a comment

Filed under Age-related, Families, Getting to Know CA, Health & Fitness

Leave a Reply

